As I am new to MySQL, I dont know how to connect my jsp page to the MySQL Database.
So please help me by giving some code on how to connect.
I have downloaded driver for Java named as Connector/J.
MySQL version is 5.0.
In this line
con = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:mysql://localhost/JSP_MYSQL?user=root&password=admin");

what is wrong where i have to give MySQL username and password and the name of the Database.

So please help me out.

It's Urgent.

Thanks..

<%! 
  Connection con = null;
  Statement state = null;
  ResultSet rs = null;
%>
<%
 try
 {
  Class.forName("com.mysql.jdbc.Driver").newInstance();
  con = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:mysql://localhost/JSP_MYSQL?user=root&password=admin");
  state = con.createStatement();
  String s = "Select * from user.login";
  rs = state.executeQuery(s);
 }

catch(SQLException e)
 {
  e.printStackTrace();
 }

%>

Recommended Answers

All 35 Replies

First thing, please do not use JSP to connect to database. Pass data to servlet for validation, or use JavaScript to valildate them in JSP, and setup connection inside servlet and then by the needs go back to previous page to pick up correct/new data or move to nex page
this is usual peace of code which I re-use often

public class SomeClassName extends HttpServlet
{
Connection conn;
Statement stmt;

public void init() throws ServletException
{
	try
	{
	}
	catch (Exception ex)
	{
		System.out.println("Exception is : " + ex.toString() );
	}
}

public void doPost( HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response) throws IOException, ServletException
{
	try
	{
		conn = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:mysql://localhost/" 
													+ "database_name?user=my_username&password=my_password");
		stmt = conn.createStatement();
	}
	catch(SQLException ex)
	{
		System.out.println("SQLException : " + ex.getMessage() );
	}

PS: I will request this post to be move to JSP section, it is where it actualy belong and where you can find more similar questions and answers