Hi,

I need to create a PHP script which can read an MS SQL database in order to authenticate users onto my website. Once they're authenticated, they get sent to their own personal log in page which allows them access to certain areas of the website. This needs to be dependant on whether or not they're in a specific user group, for instance, certain types of users get more access, basically just get sent to a different page.

Is this possible? I'm using an ODBC connection. All the serve side stuff to have the PHP and MS SQL server "talk" to each other has been done. I'm not very sure of the code as I've never done this before.

I apologise if I've posted in the wrong part of the forum, or if no one knows what I'm talking about.

Thanks in advance
Janet

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

There are many ways you could do this. The simplest way could possibly be for you to use sessions.

http://uk3.php.net/manual/en/ref.session.php

If you follow that link it gives you some information on what session are and how to use them.

An example of how you could implement it would be:

<?php
session_start();

// DATABASE CONNECTION & QUERY
// IF THE USER IS AUTHENTICATED THEN SET A SESSION
$_SESSION['authenticated_user'] = true;

?>

Whenever a user accesses a page you just need to run this code:

<?php
session_start();

if($_SESSION['authenticated_user']!=true){
header('Location: login.php');
die();
}

?>

If the user has been authenticated then they won't get re-directed.

Write back if you need further help.

If you've found this post useful please add to my reputation!