Hey.
I'm trying to make an activation script for a website, but for some reason my sql query is giving me errors.

$sql = 'UPDATE user
		SET active = 1
		WHERE (password = "$_GET[\'hash\']") AND (timestamp = ".base64_decode($_GET[\'stamp\'].")';
$result = mysql_query ($sql) or die (mysql_error());

if( mysql_num_rows($result)==1 )
{
	echo'Activated succesfully!';
}
else
{
	echo 'There was an error.';
}

I'm pretty new to PHP and MySql, so I can't figure this one out. A link with both "hash" and a base64 encoded timestamp leads to this page. Did I screw up with the quotation marks?
Thanks for the help!

EDIT: Oh, and here's the output of mysql_error():
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home2/smcmindi/public_html/rd/activate.php on line 13
Line 13 is:

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Yes, your quotations are all kinds of messed up. I'll walk you through what's wrong so you don't make the same mistake again.

$sql = 'UPDATE user
		SET active = 1
		WHERE (password = "$_GET[\'hash\']") AND (timestamp = ".base64_decode($_GET[\'stamp\'].")';
$result = mysql_query ($sql) or die (mysql_error());

{
}
else
{
}

So, you've started out with this:

$sql = '';

Therefore, every time you have another ' in the code and you're not seperating a PHP variable from the plain text of the SQL query, you need to escape it. Single quotes are very commonly used it SQL queries, so I find it's best to use double quotations to wrap them. So let's change that first.

$sql = "UPDATE user
		SET active = 1
		WHERE (password = "$_GET[\'hash\']") AND (timestamp = ".base64_decode($_GET[\'stamp\'].")";

Now then, all throughout this statement there are quotation mismatches. Let's fix them one-by-one.

WHERE (password = "$_GET[\'hash\']")

When seperating a variable from text in a PHP string, you always concatenate with a period. So this part of the statement should look like this.

WHERE (password = '".$_GET['hash']."')