Hi guys, I'm fairly new to PHP and mySQL, using a book to help me learn. I want to create a small site to help me improve my skills, but I'm a bit stuck on the database design part.

I want to be able to list various public companies and show the profits of the companies from the last 10 years.

For example:

Company Name // CEO // Founded // 2009 Profit // 2008 Profit // ... // 10 Year Average Profit

Apple // Steve Jobs // 1981 // $10.3 bn // $7.8 bn // ... // $3.58 bn

// = column separators :)

As far as I can tell, I need to have two tables in the database, one for the company data and one for the earnings:

Table 1: Company

• company_id
  • Company Name
  • CEO
  • Founded
  • Website
  • Share Price

Table 2: Earnings

• earnings_id
  • company_id
  • Year
  • Earnings

Bold = primary key for that table

My question is, is this the best setup for my tables? I guess I then need to learn a lot more about table joins to actually display the data in the format I gave above.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for rajarajan2017

Yeah its fine, and you make that company_id as foreign key in Earnings r8.

To me it seems to be fine. You may continue using this design. You may join tables using following query

select a.company_id, a.company_name ,a.CEO, a.Founded, a.Website,  a.Share_Price ,
b.year, b.earning
from company a left outer join earnings b on a.company_id=b.company_id

Hey, thanks a lot for the input, the foreign key and the SQL query worked well. Here's the demo:

http://www.peterclaridge.com/company_demo/index.php

I modified the SQL query to sort by date founded. I put the actual query as a comment in the source code if you want to view it.

Instead of listing each company 4 times and to get the correct data in the 2008/7/6 earnings columns, do I have to do a new SQL query for each year or modify the existing one?