Hi,

I'm new here so first i would like to say hello to everyone :)

I have been learning PHP for the past year on and off and have built a fully pledged website. Since my website first launched it has progressed into a full membership system which i love as it was part of my learning curve.

Since then i have obviously learned allot more about PHP althou i would still say i am not a pro or anything as i say i been learning on and off due to issues beyond my control so i could not learn as much as i wanted to.

Anyway, i basically want to re develop the backend of my live website. To ensure it goes well i am redoing the backend of the site on my computer using XAMPP etc. As since i started to learn i know know from learning that i could improve majority of my code. Security wise i am happy with as i always made sure i learnt that at the begging, i mean just doing code cleanup.

Basically i am not sure how to go about it.

i use includes obviously so i can make updates via one file. Problem is i am not sure how to proceed.

my pages when i create them for my website have a structure template like:

<!-- Include top.inc.php  -->
<?php require_once("".$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']."/inc/top.inc.php"); ?>

<!-- Meta Description -->
<meta name="description" content="" />

<!-- Keywords -->
<meta name="keywords" content="" />

<!-- Page Title -->
<title></title>

</head>

<!-- Include main.inc.php  -->
<?php require_once("".$_SERVER[DOCUMENT_ROOT]. "$main_inc"); ?>

<!-- Include menu.inc.php  -->
<?php require_once("".$_SERVER[DOCUMENT_ROOT]. "$menu_inc"); ?>

<!-- PLACE WEBSITE CONTENT HERE -->

<!-- PLACE WEBSITE CONTENT HERE END -->

<!-- Include footer.inc.php  -->
<?php require_once("".$_SERVER[DOCUMENT_ROOT]. "$footer_inc"); ?>

Now problem i got is each page i create needs the top.inc include path but the others don't as the top.inc.php has an include to paths.inc.php that contains site paths for things like main.inc.php and other paths across the website.