So let me start by saying I am new to PHP so any extra advice is helpful, working on a large scale personal project hoping to get better with PHP because of it.

Now I have a script that displays my database just as I like, and next to each row is a [edit] link (currently doesn't do anything). My goal is to enable this edit/icon link to enable a popup from; enabled through a .JS file (I've attached). I would like the form to popup pre-filled with the info of that record selected (I suppose using the $result[$id] var).

//This section gathers the field names
// and puts them in the first row of the table
$sql = "SELECT * FROM `vendors` ORDER BY `Company/Name` ASC";
$query = mysql_query($sql);
$fields_nums = mysql_num_fields($query); // Code, Account Info, Ph#, User, PW, Web, Active
		$fieldname = array();
		for($i=0; $i<$fields_nums; $i++)
			{
			$fields = mysql_fetch_field($query);
			$fieldname[$i] = $fields->name;
			echo "<td id='headers'>".$fieldname[$i]."</td>";
			}
// This section is pulling the data from the db and populating the 
//table accordingly
while($result = mysql_fetch_array($query)) { 
	$id = $result[0];
	$name = $result[1];
	$code = $result[2];
	$acct = $result[3];
	$ph = $result[4];
	$username = $result[5];
	$pw = $result[6];
	$web = $result[7];
	$active = $result[8];
	echo "<tr id='data'>";
	echo "<td>".$id."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$name."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$code."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$acct."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$ph."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$username."</td>";
	echo "<td>".$pw."</td>";
	echo "<td><a href='".$web."'>".$web."</a></td>";
	echo "<td>".$active."</td>";
	echo "<td style='border:none'>[edit]</td>";
	echo "</tr>";
}

The popup form is already predefined above this section for when adding an entry:

<!-- ADD PAYEE FORM -->
        <div id="button"><input type="Submit" name="addPayee" value="Add Payee" id="popup"></div>  
     </center>  
     <div id="popupContact">  
         <a id="popupContactClose">x</a>