Hi,

i am new to this and was wondering the following question 'Is PHP a good way to implement a database driven Web site?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

It is one way. There are a lot of possibilities if you haven't selected a server yet. Otherwise you'll have to do with what your server supports. In my opinion php is one of the easier ways to get started.

Is PHP a good way to implement a database driven Web site?

PHP is a very good way to implement a database driven Web site or any other type of website. Also it is the most popular choice(i googled PHP, ASP and JSP and read the number of results).

Well you are new to that and PHP could be a great language to start with learning just the basics of algorithms. If you have the money and time I would suggest starting through Java, in that way you will get a strong base of OOP and then you could move to PHP knowing a lot more than just scripting.

But this needs time and few recourses more. Maybe you could do both. Start PHP without OOP to have speed results and in same time learn OOP in PHP or in C++ or in Java. My advice is that if you programming PHP without OOP it is just waste of code (and I have done that in past).

Member Avatar for diafol

PHP is nice and easy to get quick results. However, like most self-taught hobbyists, I learned the procedural stuff and stopped when it got difficult with OOP. I lament my laziness. I still get problems with OOP, I just wished I'd learned it at the start, so that it would become second nature by now.

However, most of what I do (small project stuff), really doesn't need OOP (I hear afficionados screaming at that!), and I get by with simple functions, arrays and control structures.

If you really want to become a proper programmer, as opposed to a hobbyist like myself, I'd say OOP is a must.