Hey,

I am a programmer in PHP Procedural and have just applied for a new job to further my career as a PHP Programmer, however they said it's advised to learn PHP OOP... so I have been watching some tutorials about PHP OOP and it just looks like OOP is making procedural code 10x longer for no reason.....

Whats the point in learning OOP when it does nothing that procedural programming doesn't do it seems?
It just seems like your wrap a load of functions in a class why not just have functions......

Anyone shed some light on this?

Dan

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

In part you're right, and I can understand your confusion. OOP is usually used to get some degree of abstraction into your code.

If you have users, groups and rights for your webapp, each of these will be represented by a class, of which you can create an object (a user object represents a person). Each of these can have methods (things to perform, like your functions) and private information. In general, if you are working with a team, maintaining an OOP structure is easier, because these are likely to be more loosely coupled than procedural code.

Note that a lot of PHP tools (frameworks, cms's) are OOP nowadays, so if you stick to your procedural ways, companies may not be interested in you, because you need to understand, use, maintain and write OOP code.

(Please note that I do not think OOP is the holy grail. For some solutions procedural is still the way to go.)