Hi – I have an inline jQuery function that selects the table cell data onclick. The jQuery part works well. I have added code snippet of jquery.

$(function(){   $("#myTable td").click(function() {
$row = $this.closest('tr');
case "name":        
            alert($row.find(".name").html());   
            break;  
etc

Instead of displaying the name on the client –side alert message, I am trying to pass the clicked table column to php when the user clicks the button on HTML document. I am new to php and it could be easier to fix. I have searched a lot and no luck. Please help me.

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Depending on what you're trying to accomplish with the value you pass to PHP, you could try using the jQuery Post function.

$(function() {
    $('#myTable td').click(function(event) {
        var value = $(this).closest('tr').find('.name').html();

$.post('test.php', {value: value}, function(response) {
            alert(response);
        });
    );
});

<?php // test.php
    $value = isset($_POST['value']) ? $_POST['value'] : null;
    die("Posted: {$value}");

R.

Hi blocblue , Thanks for your code. This works well and posts back the column data to php without any problem.

I have a button on the html form when it is clicked the column td data needs to be post back to php and it should be displayed on that window.

For me, the jQuery alert button with data is displayed on the same window very well. But not on the test.php. All I want is just display the clicked td data on next window (test.php) when the button is clicked on the first window.

This is the code I have currently:

<form id=form1 action="test.php" method="POST"  >
    <table id=myTable border=1>
        <tr>
<input type='submit' value='Save' onclick=" " />

<?php // test.php  
  $value = isset($_POST['value']) ? $_POST['value'] : null;  
  die("Posted: {$value}");

Hi - Can anyone please help me on this issue? I am having hard time fixing this....
Thanks