Hello all,
I am a php newbie and I have a small project I need someone to work on (since I am totally frustrated at trying myelf). The project involves displaying a record within a table based on a user the is logged into my site. I also want fields of the record to be displayed in a textbox (if that is at all possible in php). I would also like to develop a function that allows a user to register for my site. Now I have to create the uer name and password myself, but I would like the user to be able to do this themselves.

I am willing to pay top dollars for anyone who can help since I am clueless. Please pm me asap and I will discuss this further...

Thanks.
-l.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

You should look at some online tutorials or search for ready made scripts. This is a relatively trivial bit of code.

Okay, I found a script on the internet that I think I can use. I have created the three files per the instructions, but when I go to access register.php to test the code via my site, there is a blank page. Can anyone recognize an error in the code for the three files below??

I currently have three files:

register.php:

<?php 
include("db.php"); 
if (isset($_POST['Username']) && isset($_POST['Password']) && isset($_POST['email']))

{ 
//Prevent SQL injections 
$Username = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['Username']); 
$email = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['email']); 

//Get MD5 hash of password 
$Password = md5($_POST['Password']); 

//Check to see if username exists 
$sql = mysql_query("SELECT Username FROM contractors WHERE Username = '".$Username."'");
if (mysql_num_rows($sql)>0) 
{ 
die ("Username taken."); 
} 

mysql_query("INSERT INTO contractors (Username, Password, email) VALUES ( '$Username', '$Password', '$Email')") or die (mysql_error()); echo "Account created.";) 

} 
?>

<html></html>
<form action="register.php" method="post">
Username: <input name="Username" type="text" />