Hello,

I am building a blog - just to shapen my skills. Since leaving college I feel like I have been loosing my programming edge. I work in IT and I primarily work on Oracle databases as a developer.

Here is what I am building - a blog. I have already built a simple blog with post and comments. Now I want to extend it to so that comments can have comments as well. I can do it using mysql by adding parent-id, so every post has a parent-id and the root post or main post with parent-id null or 0. I could also do it using some kind of a data structure. Now that is what I actually want to do since I'll learn more that way.

So my question is: what is the best data structure to implement the requirement mentioned above. I am leaning toward a trie data structure. Any thought?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I think the Parent Structure would be the most optimal way of doing this IMO

Member Avatar for diafol

It can be done like this. Or a perhaps simpler method of the underscore method:

Have an underscore at the end for every hierarchical level except for top level comments (equivalent to parent_id = 0), e.g. where structure_prefix is varchar (?), depending on the number of allowed comments per branch and depth of comment tree.

comment_id  |  structure_prefix  | other fields ..
            1  |   NULL       (this is top level)
            2  |   NULL       (also top level)
            3  |   1_         (belongs to comment #1)
            4  |   1_         (also belongs to comment #1, but comes after comment #3)
            5  |   1_4_       (branch off comment #4)
            6  |   2_         (first reply to comment #2)
            7  |   1_         (third reply to comment #1 at this level)

You can retrieve all these in one go with the following SQL:

SELECT *, CONCAT(COALESCE(structure_prefix,''), comment_id) AS comment_order FROM comments ORDER BY comment_order

This will give the result:

Comment_id |  structure_prefix | ... | comment_order