I am new to php and I am trying to write the cross tab query for mysql using PHP. I constantly keep getting errors like PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/sushvedula/cross.php on line 5
Kindly help.

This is my code.

<?php
$db->Connect('localhost','root','********','pack_00001');
for($i=0;$i<5;$i++)
for($j=0;$j<24;$j++)
select timestamp,
        group_concat(if(module=$i and block=$j,voltage,0)) as $v$i_$j
from block_voltages
group by timestamp;   
?>

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Firstly, all the code within the for block needs to be enclosed in curly braces. How is it supposed to know when the for loop starts and when it ends?

Secondly, lines 6-9 are a MySQL query but they're just sitting there pretending to be PHP code.

Thank you for the reply. But I am not sure how to make 6 look like mysql? I am sorry if this sounds like a silly question. I was under the impression that since the mysql query has not ended PHP must consider line 6 to be a part of the query.

Member Avatar for diafol

Are you trying to run queries or not? If so, use mysql_query(...). As Dani says, your SQL is just sitting there.

I still get the same error..I have added curly braces and also used mysql_query just before the select query.

Member Avatar for diafol

Show your new code. My crystal ball is cloudy! :)

The error no longer exists.Thank you so much..:) I did some changes to the variable names but I am still unable to get the correct value into $var. I guess the query is causing the problem.

<?php
$db=mysql_connect('localhost','root','********','pack_0001');
for($i=0;$i<5;$i++)
{
    for($j=0;$j<24;$j++)
    {
        $var='v'.$i.'_'.$j;
        mysql_query("select timestamp, (if(module=$i & block=$j,voltage,0)) as $var
        from block_voltages group by timestamp");
        echo "Var:$var";
    }
}
?>
Member Avatar for diafol

Yep query if a problem/ Hold on...