Hi! I recently created a website that has a contact form that sends an email with the PHP Mailer class. I had to use my gmail account because I cannot get my LAMP server's SMTP protocol working... In my mail.php file, I display the password and account quite openly as such:

mail->Username='myemail@gmail.com';
mail->Password='mypassword';

Now this file is externally linked to from the page using AJAX. How can I guarentee no one who knows the file exists can see it? Or specifically that they cannot see my password. I am new to encryption with web development. Any suggestions would be great! Is there someway to stop the file from being viewed except for when my AJAX function calls it? I have no idea what I should do.. Any keywords to get me started? Thanks for your time!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

This has little to do with encryption...

I think this question is about storing passwords in php files. The thing is at some point you will have to store you mysql database username and password as plain text in a file.

The fact that it is served as a php file means that no-one should see it anyway, so security isn't an issue.

The problem only occurs if someone was to echo it out, so to prevent against this you have to make sure that if you allowing uploads, users shouldn't be able to upload php files.

Huh, I had no idea. PHP files are totally inaccesible from a browser? Interesting... Is that because it is executed server-side? Even so, they don't view it like you would view a CSS file? As plain text?

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Well you can try it yourself, cick on your php file and right-click source. You should only be able to see the rendered html entities...

Any php variables will be hidden from the end user/client.

Of course this is to be expected as this is the whole purpose...