Here is a basic join code for two database tables, I want it to compare the two tables with a users email, it would have to be the current user logged on. How do i do so with php?

SELECT column_name(s)
FROM table_name1
INNER JOIN table_name2
ON table_name1.column_name=table_name2.column_name

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Well how do you know what current user is logged on?

Are you storing their sessions id?

I have the users saved into a mysql database, so I know whose online. I am storing their session_id, but I want their email to be linbked which is stored as [email_of_user].

So what part are you stuck on? Using the session_id to pull back their email addresses, or are you having trouble with the SQL query.

If it is the latter then you need to post up your table structure and how they are linked.

I'm new at this and dont really know how to say it but ill give it my best shot, I can get it to connect to the sql query, what i need is it to do somekthing like this,

SELECT column_name(s)
FROM table_name1
INNER JOIN table_name2
ON table_name1.email_user_email=table_name2.email_user_email

I want it to know the user who is logged in and their email, and find that email in the other tables.

Okay I got my tables figured out,

`

SELECT fgusers3.username, videos.videoname
    FROM fgusers3
    INNER JOIN videos
    ON fgusers3.email=videos.email
    ORDER BY fgusers3.username

`

now how do I have the email its looking to compare be the email of the user currently online. something like this,

session_start();

$_Session['email_of_user'];

SELECT fgusers3.username, videos.videoname
FROM fgusers3
INNER JOIN videos
ON fgusers3.email=videos.email
ORDER BY fgusers3.username

However you do it, it doesn't matter.

Somehow or another you need to obtain the userID and then from that get the email.

In fact using sessions might be a step in the wrong direction...