1,105,391 Community Members

how admin can change user name and all detail

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i have the follwing table
name email pass
name1 email1 pass1
name2 eamil2 pass2
how can i cahnge name1 from my admin page
please any one help me

LastMitch
Deleted Member
 
0
 

@sultankhan

how admin can change user name and all detail
i have the follwing table
name email pass
name1 email1 pass1
name2 eamil2 pass2
how can i cahnge name1 from my admin page
please any one help me

It would be nice if you can post some code! It would be easier if you have a code about this table and query so it would be easily to help you.

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

thanks @lastMitch for reply
the code ia have is the follwing but it delet all names and i dont want to delet all name i just want to update a specific user name emai etc mean if i want to replace name1 with name3 then how can i do this,

 <?php
 $con = mysql_connect("localhost","root","");
if (!$con)
  {
  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

mysql_select_db("test", $con);

 if ($_POST['submit']) {

 $username = $_POST['name'];

 //if you want to update
 mysql_query("UPDATE users SET name = '$name'");







 }

 ?>






<form method="POST">

Delete username: <input type="submit" name="submit" value="DELETE"/>

</form>
Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

my next code which i have try but this insert value in new lion while i want to replace the name whcih i want to chnge the code is ..........

    <?php
     session_start();session_destroy();
     session_start();
    if($_GET["regname"])
    {
        if($_GET["regpass1"]==$_GET["regpass2"])
        {
        $servername="localhost";
        $username="root";
        $conn=  mysql_connect($servername,$username)or die(mysql_error());
        mysql_select_db("test",$conn);
        $sql="insert into users (name)values('$_GET[regname]')";
        $result=mysql_query($sql,$conn) or die(mysql_error());      
        print "<h1>you have sucessfully email ID</h1>";

        print "<a href='index.php'>go to login page</a>";
        }
        else print "passwords doesnt match";
    }
    else print"invaild input data";
    ?>
Member Avatar
sv3tli0
Junior Poster in Training
81 posts since Aug 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 18 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

For not making mistakes I recommend you to have one EDIT page where to edit individual users ... something as website/admin/edituser/123

There make just 1 normal form which have all current values, of the user with the id 123, and changed them to whatever you want and submit them.

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

thanks @sv3 for reply
i have create edit page which have the above can you give me a code how to edit user profile.
tahnks in advance.

Member Avatar
NardCake
Posting Pro in Training
417 posts since Oct 2012
Reputation Points: 30 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 30 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 9 [?]
 
0
 

You need to use the WHERE clause to select the proper row to edit.
mysql_query("UPDATE users SET name = '$name' WHERE name='$SelectedNameForExample'");
that will update a specific name.

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

@Nardcake
i know that method which you have told but i want to edit not like that becoz for this i need "where" for each user so when new user comes how my client will set this i want to change each user name and all details

Member Avatar
sv3tli0
Junior Poster in Training
81 posts since Aug 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 18 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Before using down code answer me, do you have user_id column at your table ?
If not you have to add userid column (int with autoincreament).
This way your users will have their unique ID (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8....);
Other option is to use username as unique id but, I don't recommend that..

Here is an example page for edituser with simple URL as WEBSITE/admin/useredit.php?userid=123 ::

<php
    session_start(); // I am not sure you need that but I get your code from above..

    $user_id = (int)$_GET['userid']; // this I get from the url the userid param.

    if($user_id < 1) {
        header('Location: redirectpage.php'); //I think that userid should be 1 or greatter.. 
    }

    $servername="localhost";
    $username="root";
    $conn=  mysql_connect($servername,$username)or die(mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db("test",$conn);

    if(isset($_POST["submit"])){
        $sql_update = sprintf("UPDATE users SET name='%s',email='%s',pass='%s' WHERE userid={$user_id}",
            mysql_real_escape_string($_POST["name"]),
            mysql_real_escape_string($_POST["email"]),
            mysql_real_escape_string($_POST["pass"]));
        $update = mysql_query($sql_update,$conn) or die(mysql_error());
        if($update){
            echo "User updated";
        }
    }

    $sql = "SELECT * users WHERE userid={$user_id}"; //userid is the name of your columnt.. I dont know it
    $result=mysql_query($sql,$conn) or die(mysql_error());
    $user_data = mysql_fetch_row($result);
?>

<form method="post" action="">
<input type="text" name="name" value="<?php echo $user_data['name']; ?>" />
<input type="text" name="email" value="<?php echo $user_data['email']; ?>" />
<input type="text" name="pass" value="<?php echo $user_data['pass']; ?>" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="Save" />
</form>
Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Dear @sv3
yes i have id with name id but i have set as primary key not unique
so i should change that?

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

what should i write insted of redirectpage.php

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

it give the erorr the page is not redirectly properly

Member Avatar
sv3tli0
Junior Poster in Training
81 posts since Aug 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 18 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Please check PHP documantation for such things as how header(location) works...
http://php.net/manual/en/function.header.php
(It may not work if you have ECHO something or output any html code before it)

If you have ID as primary and its autoincreament its unique too.

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i have nothing before it and it works in other pages mean if i give a page excipt my edit user page mean in which page i have save this code, it give me this error otherwise if i change this page it work but i have no idea that which page i should write there,

Member Avatar
sv3tli0
Junior Poster in Training
81 posts since Aug 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 18 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Write in your full page url .. as

header('Location: http://mysite.com/mypage.php');
Member Avatar
tscina
Light Poster
47 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

What are you trying to do here? Do you want the user who logged in to inactivate his own account?

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Dear @tscina
i want if a user login then how can he see his profile and how can he edit his profile..?

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

dear @sv3 it give me the follwin error now
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'users WHERE user_id=0' at line 1

Member Avatar
tscina
Light Poster
47 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

You don't have any input type text that's why the code deletes everydata. Try

<form method="POST" action="">
Delete username: <input type="text" name="username" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="DELETE"/>
</form>

Then try to insert this in your php code:

    $username=$_POST['username'];

    $query= "DELETE * FROM yourtablename WHERE username='$username'";

But this is not advised as it's better to assign it to a primary key but just to test if it would work the way you want it to I made it basic.

Member Avatar
sultankhan
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

dear it doing nothing

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: