1,105,214 Community Members

displaying different content everyday

Member Avatar
arcticM
Junior Poster in Training
87 posts since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I want to make a little code that displays a different string everyday.
for example I have 100 strings. I want that when a user opens my site they'll see one of the strings that day. the next day they'll see another string..and so forth.
so far I thought about putting all the strings in array and give every string a hardcoded date on which it will displayed, and then with a simple if statement the correct string is going to be displayed.
is there any known(better) way to do this?

Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 

why you not creating database for string u can add it and next day delete all string with one line query and add new string.

Member Avatar
arcticM
Junior Poster in Training
87 posts since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I don't want to create a DB for this.. it's really something tiny that I want to be done with as little code as possible.
and what I wonder about is not how to save the strings but how to display a different one everyday without hardcoding the dates.
p.s
i want to set the strings once (not change the string everyday) if I set 30 strings, after 30 days I want the loop to repeat itself (so deleting a string each day won't work cause I'll have to insert it again when I'm out of strings).

Member Avatar
pritaeas
mod_pritaeas
11,291 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 1,420 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,832 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 155 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

You'll need to store somewhere (in a file perhaps) which array index is the current one, and increase that daily.

Member Avatar
arcticM
Junior Poster in Training
87 posts since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

how do i update the index only ONCE a day?

Member Avatar
pritaeas
mod_pritaeas
11,291 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 1,420 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,832 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 155 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

With a scheduled task (cron job).

Member Avatar
arcticM
Junior Poster in Training
87 posts since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

ok, any other suggestions on doing this inside the code itself?.. i see hardcodding the dates is the only option if I want the code to do it and not something like cron job?

Member Avatar
pritaeas
mod_pritaeas
11,291 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 1,420 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,832 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 155 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

If you store the current date with the index, you can check if it has changed and overwrite it.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article