1,105,242 Community Members

Data did not display

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello there. I used this code for user and it works but when I use and alter a bit for admin side system, there is no data inside of the text field and the username keep on changing to 0 eventhough I type in other username. This is the code.

password.php

<?php 

session_start();
$admin=$_POST['admin_id'];
$adpass=$_POST['admin_password'];

$conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "")or die("Could not connect to server");
$db = mysql_select_db("Smartlocker", $conn)or die("Could not connect to database");
$sql = "SELECT * FROM admin WHERE admin_id='$admin' ";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die ("Could not execute query");
$info=mysql_fetch_row($result);

?>

<?php
    do{
    echo "
    <table width='172' border='0'>
        <tr>
            <td width='62' height='32'><i><b>Username</b></i></td>
            <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
            <td width='100'><input name='admin_id' type='text' size='30' value='$info[0]'></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
            <td width='62' height='30'><i><b>Password</b></i></td>
            <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
            <td width='100'><input name='admin_password' type='password' size='30' value='$info[1]'></td>
        </tr>        
        <tr>
            <td></td>
            <td></td>
            <td><div align ='right'><form name='pass' method='post' action='savepassword.php'>
            <input type='submit' name='submit' value='Edit'>                                 
            </form></div></td>
        </tr>
    </table> ";
    }while($info=mysql_fetch_row($result));
?>

and this is the process.
savepassword.php

<?php

session_start();

$conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "")or die("Could not connect to server");
$db = mysql_select_db("Smartlocker", $conn)or die("Could not connect to database");
$sql = "UPDATE admin SET admin_id='$admin_id', admin_password='$admin_password'
        WHERE admin_id='$admin' ";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die ("Could not execute query");

if($result)
{
    echo "  

<table width='1291' height='401' border='1' bordercolor='C0F7FE' bgcolor='E9F1EA'>
    <tr>
        <td>Password successfully updated</td>
    </tr>
</table> ";
}

?>

Did I miss out some codes or there is something wrong with it?

Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 
<form name='pass' method='post' action='savepassword.php'>
    <table width='172' border='0'>
    <tr>
    <td width='62' height='32'><i><b>Username</b></i></td>
    <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
    <td width='100'><input name='admin_id' type='text' size='30' value='$info[0]'></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td width='62' height='30'><i><b>Password</b></i></td>
    <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
    <td width='100'><input name='admin_password' type='password' size='30' value='$info[1]'></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td></td>
    <td></td>
    <td><div align ='right'>
    <input type='submit' name='submit' value='Edit'>
  </div></td>
    </tr>
    </table></form>";
Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 

try this may be work

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

it didn't work either.. :(

Member Avatar
code739
Posting Whiz in Training
213 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 17 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 30 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

can you give your table structure? and as what arti18 posted..there is a form as you save the username and password cause from your code there is no form..

from the savepassword.php file
this line
$sql = "UPDATE admin SET admin_id='$admin_id', admin_password='$admin_password' WHERE admin_id='$admin' "; $admin_id should contain post or get variable like $admin_id = $_POST['admin_id']; and $admin as well

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

table structure? you mean like this?

<table width='172' border='0'>
    <tr>
        <td width='62' height='32'><i><b>Username</b></i></td>
        <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
        <td width='100'>
        <input name='admin_id' type='text' size='30' value='$info[0]'></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td width='62' height='30'><i><b>Password</b></i></td>
        <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
        <td width='100'>
        <input name='admin_password' type='password' size='30' value='$info[1]'></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td></td>
        <td></td>
        <td><div align ='right'>
        <form name='pass' method='post' action='savepassword.php'>
        <input type='submit' name='submit' value='Edit'>
        </form></div></td>
    </tr>
</table>

do you mean like, it need to have 3 steps from form -> password.php -> savepassword.php?
is it something like this?

is it a must to put

$admin=$_POST['admin_id'];
$adpass=$_POST['admin_password'];

after

session_start();
Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 

give link to update password and in that link pass admin id throught query string and then update password on savepassword page.

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

sorry.. but I don't get you.

Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 
  <?php 
    session_start();
$conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "carina")or die("Could not connect to server");
    $db = mysql_select_db("test", $conn)or die("Could not connect to database");


     if(isset($_POST['submit']))
    {

    $admin=$_POST['admin_id'];
    $adpass=$_POST['admin_password'];



      $sql = "SELECT * FROM admin WHERE admin_id='$admin' ";
    $result = mysql_query($sql) or die ("Could not execute query");
    $info=mysql_fetch_array($result);
     $admin_id=$info['admin_id'];
     $_SESSION['admin_id']=$admin_id;
     //echo $admin_id;
     header('location:savepassword.php');
}
   ?>
  <body>

    <form name='pass' method='post'>
    <table width='172' border='0'>
    <tr>
    <td width='62' height='32'><i><b>Username</b></i></td>
    <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
    <td width='100'><input name='admin_id' type='text' size='30' value=''></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td width='62' height='30'><i><b>Password</b></i></td>
    <td width='10'><strong>:</strong></td>
    <td width='100'><input name='admin_password' type='password' size='30' value=''></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td></td>
    <td></td>
    <td><div align ='right'>
    <input type='submit' name='submit' value='Login'>
  </div></td>
    </tr>
    </table></form> 

   </body>



savepassword.php

    <?php
    session_start();
    $conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "carina")or die("Could not connect to server");
    $db = mysql_select_db("test", $conn)or die("Could not connect to database");
    $admin='';
    $adpass='';
    if(isset($_SESSION['admin_id']))
    {
    $admin=$_SESSION['admin_id'];
    //$adpass=$_POST['admin_password'];


    $sql = "SELECT * FROM admin WHERE admin_id='$admin' ";
    $result = mysql_query($sql) or die ("Could not execute query");
    $info=mysql_fetch_array($result);
     $admin_id=$info['admin_id'];
     echo $admin_id;
}
     if(isset($_POST['submit']))
     {
        $admin=$_POST['admin_id'];
    $adpass=$_POST['admin_password'];

    $sql = "UPDATE admin SET admin_id='$admin', admin_password='$adpass'
    WHERE admin_id='$admin_id'";
    //echo $sql;
    $result = mysql_query($sql) or die ("Could not execute query");
    if($result)
    {
    echo "
    <table width='1291' height='401' border='1' bordercolor='C0F7FE' bgcolor='E9F1EA'>
    <tr>
    <td>Password successfully updated</td>
    </tr>
    </table> ";
}
}
    ?>

    <html>
    <head>
        <title></title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <form method='post'>
       Admin Id:<input name='admin_id' type='text' size='30' value=''>
       <br>
    Password:<input name='admin_password' type='password' size='30' value=''>
    <input type='submit' name='submit' value='Edit'>
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>

test this i run your code it has so many errors all solved and change database coonection to your database connection,i think that's the thing you want

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

okay. but wait. starting from the first line until 47th, it didn't show any data on the text field or is that one for login?

Member Avatar
AARTI SHRIVAS
Posting Pro in Training
410 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 38 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 

yes it is for login you have to give login permition to user after that user can change password without login how can user change the password for her/himself

Member Avatar
code739
Posting Whiz in Training
213 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 17 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 30 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

heres the process
1. <form method="post" action="savepassword.php"></form>
2. redirect from savepassword.php
3. get all $_POST value (as youve seen from 1 you used post method)
$_POST - is an array that contains the input element from the form(see #1)

$_POST['<name of the element>']

for example <input type="text" name="student_id"> so you could get the value of the posted student id by $_POST['student_id']
4. then you can use them to the preceeding code.

Member Avatar
hudhasama
Newbie Poster
13 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I did like you ask me to but it shows this message.
Parse error: parse error, expecting T_STRING' orT_VARIABLE' or `T_NUM_STRING'

Member Avatar
code739
Posting Whiz in Training
213 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 17 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 30 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 
You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: