Write to line in file.

Member Avatar
websponge
Junior Poster in Training
59 posts since Nov 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]

Hi, I have been able to write to a text file, then another page can read from that file, all good.. Problem is I'm using multiple txt files just to set various variables. There is a reason I'm not using a database.

Can I somehow, write to a file after a certain marker is found ?

I.e, if I had in my txt file:

variable1

variable2

I could write to the text file a value, after it saw #variable2
So it would then read

variable2mypostedvalue ?

And of course do the same in reverse when reading the file?

Thanks

Member Avatar
minitauros
Practically a Master Poster
606 posts since Apr 2011
Reputation Points: 67 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]

Hm yes I guess you could. You can place the internal pointer of a file to a specific position using fseek(). However, I've never used it before myself, so I wouldn't know exactly how to use it.

What you COULD do is, if you know the exact value of the variable you are seeking, use a strpos() or stripos() to find the offset of the word you are looking for, then split the string there and insert whatever you want to insert. For example:

<?php
// Imaginary file contents.
$file_contents = 'This is a file. It contains text.';

// We're looking for this word:
$looking_for = 'file';

// We want to add this word after the word we're looking for:
$add = '. It is HUGE.';

// Find its offset.
$offset = stripos($file_contents, $looking_for);

// Split the string.
$substr_to = $offset + strlen($looking_for);
$part_1 = substr($file_contents, 0, $substr_to);
$part_2 = substr($file_contents, $substr_to);

$new_file_contents = $part_1 . $add . $part_2;

// $new_file_contents is now:
// 'This is a file. It is HUGE. It contains text.';
Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,381 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 567 [?]