Hi,
I am currently in my final year doing an eportfolio system as my final year project and this system will allow students to do things such as upload images, academic documents in say word,pdf files. Also it would allow students to set privacy issues to each document in their page. Say for example if i upload one file to my page, the person can set that document to be viewed by certain people. the user groups i have is,public,private,registered users and special people.

I just want to ask anyone out there if you have any php script that can help me upload music $ video files to my database and be able to download them. the script i have does upload them but i dont know when it comes to downloading them it doesn't download the files successfully.

also i am finding it difficult to implement a database design for the privacy issues i explained above.

say for instance someone sets a particular document to be viewed only some special people, how do I implement this in the database. My idea is that if someone sets a document to special people, that special person is created and then there will be a table that will created just for special persons that people have created and then there will be another table that lists all the documents be it word,image,video files etc and with the respective people that can view them.

If anyone has done this before please can u help me out by giving a suitable database design or explanation on how to go bout this.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for fatihpiristine

first. create dropdownlist which contains details about privacy.. assign an id and create a table about uploading to store paths and uploaders' id, privacy etc.

1 > Public
2 > Private
3 > Registered

as you upload the file ask uploader to set its privacy level... and save the file path to your db and upload the file.. thats all.

while people browsing check that privacy id and do whatever you want...

Hello,

Uploading The File :