Hi all, I wonder if you wonderful people can point me in the right direction??

I'm quite new to web programming, I'm OK at conventional C/C++ etc but just really getting into the whole webside thang. Anyway, I was wondering how I may solve the following.

I want to have a sensor (doesn't matter what type it is, let's say a temperature sensor). This sensor will read it's environment reporting on (in this case) temperature. (Let's say the circuitry has been buit and it's giving the data I need)

My question is

• I want to convert the sensor output to a 3D graph (any ideas guys),
  • I want to be able to show the graph on PC/smartphones (so think a web interface the best approach - unless someone/anyone has better ideas and most importantly links)
  • I want to show the temperature change/graph in 'real time' (absolutly crucial) through the web interface .

I think, the conversion of the data would have to be done serverside. I'm thinking (and I may be wrong so please do correct)

Client side - Get sensor data
Client side - Transmit data
Server side - Convert data to graph
Server side - Transmit data/graph
Client side - Receive data
Client side - Show graph

If this were just a question of rendering a sensors data to a PC screen (self contained application) - I would feel confident to tackle it. However, I think where I'm getting stuck is the rendering/transmitting and displaying of the 3D images in real time using web technology, platforms and languages. If it helps, I am just picking up Php, MySql and python. I already know C/C++/VB and assembly.

I hope this makes sense, any starting points that you can give will be greatly appreciated
Jason :)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I think that for the client to access the sensor, you'll need to use something other than a webbrowser (if that's what you had in mind). It won't have access. I recommend a desktop application. Transmitting the data using a webservice can work just fine.