Heya, i am creating a personal site using Microsoft Frontpage. To make the site more intersting i have added music .. But i know if i allow people to download it from my site it will be illegal. Can anyone help me and tell me how to make the music unavailable to download and to listen to ONLY?.

Thanks,
Killswitch.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Use JavaScript for example

errrrrr giz a hand

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
function playSound(soundUrl)
{
	document.getElementById("sounds").src = soundUrl;
}
</SCRIPT>

and something like

bgsound="javascript:playSound('song location')"

thank you for that :) I will copy in the HTML code later

please 'memba im not thick its just im 13 and still learning

Killswitch

Does'nt seem to work... im pretty new to using HTML could you give me any more advice or help?. It would be much appreciated

Thanks,
Killswitch

I'm confused. Anyone would be able to view the source of the HTML page, see the location of the sound file, and download it directly? You would need to stream media somehow ... a streaming server? I'm not exactly sure how it works :)

I'm confused. Anyone would be able to view the source of the HTML page, see the location of the sound file, and download it directly? You would need to stream media somehow ... a streaming server? I'm not exactly sure how it works :)

Yeah you can put in place a media player in your site so that the music/vid plays in it. I havent tried this to see if it stops ppl being able to download the music.

Do you even know what "downloading" is? (Sorry for being abrasive.) It is impossible for a user's computer to play the music that is on your server without having downloaded it first.

What you want is impossible.

Do you even know what "downloading" is? (Sorry for being abrasive.) It is impossible for a user's computer to play the music that is on your server without having downloaded it first.

What you want is impossible.