Hi there,

I'm completely new to styling in wordpress, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Basically, I'm working on the following website: www.rjt-online.com/home.php

And for it's Blog page I wanted to style Wordpress to look and function the same as the site. Is it possible to incorporate all the functionality and look of the header (the area from the top of the page to the bottom of the nav buttons) into Wordpress, including the Javascript and CSS that controls the changing colours and moving buttons?

If so, can someone give me some pointers on how to do this easily?

In an ideal world I'd also like the footer of my website to appear too.

Cheers!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Well, to start, styling wordpress is ALOT easier then it seems, right down to putting the header/footer/JS that YOU want into it. The trick to it, is that you have to open the PHP files, IN the wordpress ADMIN panel. When you open these up, header.php/footer.php, and I forget the main one offhand, you have to read through the PHP, and see where everything is situated IN the PHP. Its fairly easy to read, and all you have to do is cut and paste the JS/HTML in the appropriate places within the PHP files, and the CSS goes in the style.css file, also opened in the admin panel. It sounds complicated, and at first when I started doing it I was pretty intimidated by it. But, just get in there and play with it, its the best thing you can do is alot of trial and error on the placement.

One important thing tho~~~ BACKUP THE ORIGINAL PHP FILES BEFORE ALTERING THEM!!!!!!!! I apologize if you really didn't need to know that, but better safe then sorry. You can preview the changes as you make them in the PHP files, so you will know if you are getting things pasted right.

I hope this helps, and is easy enough to understand. Good luck with your endeavor.

Thanks!

I have managed to get a good chunk of it done.

However, could you tell me how I could fix a few things....