1,105,633 Community Members

Table Position Way Off In FF

Member Avatar
KPheasey
Newbie Poster
16 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I can't figure out why my tables are being pushed to the right so much in FireFox.

Please take a look and let me know what you think the problem could be.

http://ground360.org/coupons/

Thanks.

Member Avatar
leakbali
Light Poster
42 posts since Jul 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 8 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Check in your external css, there is any style control fieldset element?

<fieldset>
<legend accesskey="I">Search Offers</legend>
<table>

...

</table>
</fieldset>
Member Avatar
KPheasey
Newbie Poster
16 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Check in your external css, there is any style control fieldset element?

<fieldset>
<legend accesskey="I">Search Offers</legend>
<table>

...

</table>
</fieldset>

The only mention of fieldset is in forms.css (http://localhost/groundfare/common/css/forms.css). But nothing there should be causing a problem like this, all it does is add a thin orange border.

Member Avatar
Pro2000
Posting Whiz
351 posts since Jun 2007
Reputation Points: 29 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 26 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I couldn't view your website.. There's an error retrieving it..
Anyway, usually you have to set the align property in the table tag in order for it to work on Firefox. You should do this even if you've set an alignment for a paragraph containing this table..
For example:

<table align="center"......>.....</table>

This should work properly.. Hope it helps.

Member Avatar
Hani1991
Posting Whiz in Training
200 posts since May 2011
Reputation Points: 12 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 8 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
-1
 

@KPheasey:
Please tell us when youre done with your code and whether it is solved or not.

Member Avatar
KPheasey
Newbie Poster
16 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I couldn't view your website.. There's an error retrieving it..
Anyway, usually you have to set the align property in the table tag in order for it to work on Firefox. You should do this even if you've set an alignment for a paragraph containing this table..
For example:

<table align="center"......>.....</table>

This should work properly.. Hope it helps.

This had no affect on the position of the fieldset.

I have noticed that the problem is only happening where a <fieldset> is used. I tried messing with some of the style attributes like position, but have not had any success.

Member Avatar
Pro2000
Posting Whiz
351 posts since Jun 2007
Reputation Points: 29 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 26 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Well, sorry! I couldn't open your website..
Why don't you post the snippet of your code where you think the problem is??

Member Avatar
KPheasey
Newbie Poster
16 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Well, sorry! I couldn't open your website..
Why don't you post the snippet of your code where you think the problem is??

I don't even know where the problem could be, when I look at the layout in firebug, everything seems fine.

It's odd that you can't access the site, it's a test server but still public. It seems as if other posters where able to access it. http://ground360.org/coupons/

Member Avatar
Arkinder
Posting Pro in Training
441 posts since Nov 2010
Reputation Points: 93 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 61 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

You should never use tables for layout. It is an outdated technique from 1996. The problem is from margin: 0; in this CSS rule.

ul#menu {
    background: url("../img/menu-bg.gif") repeat-x scroll left top #FFFFFF;
    font-family: "Lucida Grande",Verdana,sans-serif;
    font-size: 0.8em;
    font-weight: bold;
    height: 43px;
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    width: 100%;
}

This is because the form isn't being pushed far enough down. You can either remove the margin: 0; and allow FF to set it automatically. Or you can use margin-bottom: 8px; Regards
Arkinder

Member Avatar
KPheasey
Newbie Poster
16 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

You should never use tables for layout. It is an outdated technique from 1996. The problem is from margin: 0; in this CSS rule.

ul#menu {
    background: url("../img/menu-bg.gif") repeat-x scroll left top #FFFFFF;
    font-family: "Lucida Grande",Verdana,sans-serif;
    font-size: 0.8em;
    font-weight: bold;
    height: 43px;
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    width: 100%;
}

This is because the form isn't being pushed far enough down. You can either remove the margin: 0; and allow FF to set it automatically. Or you can use margin-bottom: 8px; Regards
Arkinder

Removing the margin solved the problem, thank you very much.

I realize that tables are outdated, but I didn't get a choice in design, I'm just the developer, the design was done more than a year ago. However, I did add the menu element (which is why that isn't in a table lol).

Question Answered as of 2 Years Ago by Pro2000, Arkinder, Hani1991 and 1 other
You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: