I have a CSS-styled HTML drop-down menu that I want common across all web pages. Right now, I have the HTML coding in each file, but the CSS link is broken in subdirectories so the stlying does not work. How can I get the CSS to be linked properly and how could I have a master menu so I only have to change things once? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Copy the CSS file to each of your subdirectories.

Also please post your html link to the css file. I am basing my above solution that your html is calling for the file to be within the directory the file is in.

It is not in the same directory, but the html link is 'relative' - it is down a level.
Here is the link on the master page (index.html):

<link href="css/dropdown/dropdown.css" media="screen" rel="stylesheet"
type="text/css" />
<link href="css/dropdown/themes/default/default.css" media="screen"
rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

Yes, the css works for all the top-level directories. The folder layout is like
Website

-css (Folder)
   -img (Folder)
   -subpage1 (Folder)
       -product1.html
       -product2.html
   -subpage2 (Folder)
       -product3.html
       -product4.html
   -index.html
   -about.html
   -subpage1.html
   -subpage2.html

The css works for pages "index", "about", "subpage1", and "subpage2". It does not work for those in folders "subpage1" or "subpage2" (i.e. product1, 2, 3, or 4).

What's the link href to the css in the pages that aren't working? It should be something like

<link href="../css/dropdown/dropdown.css" media="screen" rel="stylesheet"
type="text/css" />
<link href="../css/dropdown/themes/default/default.css" media="screen"
rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

That worked. I thought I had tried that, but I guess I didn't. Do you know how to make a master menu page so the menu is the same on all pages where I can only change it once?