1,105,633 Community Members

Showing code on a website

Member Avatar
Labdabeta
Master Poster
769 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 161 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 42 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

How do you show code on a website? Right now I define a bunch of CSS styles called Comment, Preprocessor, Keyword, etcetera. Then make a two column table, make the left column line numbers and and the right column each row has a line of code. Then I manually go through the code assigning CSS styles where appropriate. The problem is that this is tedious, especially for long pieces of code and it is not portable so if I need to change things it takes a long time. I am very new to website programming and have no idea where to start with this. Any help?

Member Avatar
simplypixie
Practically a Master Poster
673 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 123 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 122 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

Can I ask why you want to show code on a website?

Member Avatar
Labdabeta
Master Poster
769 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 161 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 42 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

Because I was challenged by a friend to make a C++ tutorial website and I am determined to win my challenge ;). Also how can I have hidden content (so you press a button and all of a sudden extra text appears.

Member Avatar
simplypixie
Practically a Master Poster
673 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 123 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 122 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

Unfortunately I don't think I can help but I think you mean to display code like you would on this forum, in code tags, and I don't know how to do that (mainly because I have needed to do it so haven't looked into how it is done).

With regard to hidden content which shows on the click of a button that would need a mix of CSS and JavaScript - many tutorials on the web.

Sorry to have not been more help.

Member Avatar
Labdabeta
Master Poster
769 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 161 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 42 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
0
 

Ok, I guess I will stick to my tables of manually coloured syntax :( Thank you anyways.

Question Answered as of 2 Years Ago by simplypixie
Member Avatar
pritaeas
mod_pritaeas
11,317 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 1,420 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,835 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 156 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Were you looking for a syntax highlighter ? There are many more than the one I linked. (I know this was solved, but it may help others.)

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: