WARNING NOOB ALERT!!!
I hope I am posting in the right place.
A little about me I am a Firefighter/Gamer/self proclaimed technerd. I made a site for a Group of other Firefighter/Gamers. Should say mudding my way through making a site.

I need some help getting info from one place and have it paste to a website with out having to go in and physically change the page everytime we gain or lose a memeber. Here is the link to what info I want to get http://battalion343.webege.com/Roster.html if any one can help that would be great.
PS
I aslo would like to copy players name and AV to a side panel I have on other pages in the site.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Do you have this information stored in a DB? creating a page with server-side scripting would be the easiest way to pull the info from a DB and dispaly it dynamically on your page.

No I do not have a DB. Also, I do not have game sever access. So, I think I need a script that can copy and paste?

Ok, so the site that has this information is not your site... I see. It sounds like you want to screen scrape. This really shouldnt be done without the website owner's permission... in any case, you need some server-side scripting, such as PHP on your site, to pull the target page and collect the information you want to display on your page. There are quite a bit of examples on the web.

There are other alternatives, say this information is stored in XML format, you could have your page's server side scripting download the XML data from the target and extract the information needed.

Member Avatar for diafol

Ditto. Don't use data without permission.
The site may just have a XML/RSS/REST solution. If it does, you're in business. Alternatively you can use cURL to scrape info.
All these require a server-side language to access remote data. If you have hosting with 000webhost.com, I think they offer php/mysql.