1,105,254 Community Members

How to make my site compatible with IE

Member Avatar
OsaMasw
Posting Whiz in Training
212 posts since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Every time when I design a website I say who cares about IE , but that's not a professional way to design
so I need help in making my design comaptible with all browsers
this design in chrom and firefox
53f1b261927ecccc0dff023ac4c27f0f

but in IE its looks like

ef88efcec644c2ec62b503af50378cb2

full code for the page I cannot embed because its too long
so visit this site to see it live

http://os-share.host22.com/web2/

Attachments
Member Avatar
Zagga
Posting Pro in Training
438 posts since Dec 2009
Reputation Points: 46 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 90 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
1
 

It looks fine in IE10.
There are lots of CSS hacks to fix most of the 'inconsistencies' of previous versions of IE. If you do a search for ie css hacks you'll find a host of possibilities.
You may want to decide which previous version of IE you want your sites to be viewable on as each version seems to need it's own hacks.

Member Avatar
OsaMasw
Posting Whiz in Training
212 posts since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

its working on IE 10 but its lack somtimes :(, hope I find an easy way to solve this

Member Avatar
Zagga
Posting Pro in Training
438 posts since Dec 2009
Reputation Points: 46 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 90 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 6 [?]
 
1
 

I had a look at your CSS file and you are using lots of CSS3 properties.
The spacing isue you have is because you are using:

-moz-column-count:5; /* Firefox */
-webkit-column-count:5; /* Safari and Chrome */
column-count:5;

Looking at the property description on W3Schools (they do still have some usefull info) it shows the browser compatibility.

Note: The column-count property is not supported in Internet Explorer 9 and earlier versions.

Member Avatar
OsaMasw
Posting Whiz in Training
212 posts since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

WAW thats great to know thanks to inform this.I'll try to find alternative solution for IE .

Question Answered as of 9 Months Ago by Zagga
You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: