Member Avatar for zenloki

Hello. Long time member, first time poster here. After a year working in a data center, I've picked up all the engineers would throw at me and I want more. I'm leaning toward software development and robotics as an eventual career but currently at the level of support tech with massive cabling experience. Obviously I need more knowledge. Due to some complicated job demands I'm considering a computer science bachelors through a wholly online program. I'm sure that of the 958,130 members here, one and hopefully more, has done the same thing. I'm interested in hearing about your experience while in the program, how your degree was received during the job hunt and how well prepared you were upon completing your degree. If you have any recommendations, I'm all ears.

peace

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Welcome :)

I don't know much about online degrees, but I am a robotics engineer, so I might weight in a bit here.

First, you have to watch out when looking up online degrees because there are a lot of fake colleges or university, for-profit colleges and so on. Also, potential employers will be wary of any fishy-sounding degree, I know I would be.

But, there are respectable universities that do offer legitimate online / part-time degrees that would be as good as any. If you make sure of the legitimacy and quality of the online degree you pursue, there shouldn't be too much prejudice related to that, but I may be wrong.