Member Avatar for diafol

Basically, if the poster has shown some initiative and done some research themselves, I am happy to help, otherwise they get a nice link to www.lmgtfy.com :P

Yeah I noticed that! Hilarious - so much so, I translated lmgtfy into my native language so I could 'annoy the annoying'. Probably the most useful bit of translation I've done to date - thanks Will! :icon_cheesygrin:

Does the motive for starting a thread make a difference to the help that should be offered? I'm a hobbyist, so any help passed in my direction will not make me any money or help me pass any examinations.

No, your motive should not be a factor -- unless the motive is for someone else to write the program for you. Whether a student, hobbyist, or professional, IMO you should ask an appropriate question, and give enough detail so someone can point you in the proper direction. We are not a coding service, and it bothers me when someone hands out code willy-nilly. If you are asking a question, you are willing to learn. If you aren't willing to learn, there are a lot of other sites where you can have someone write your code for you -- for a price (and there should be a price).

Am I (attempts at solving the problem myself aside) more or less deserving of help than somebody with a critical interest (e.g. somebody in the IT business or a student)? Is this even relevant - should help be provided piecemeal (even cryptically) regardless of the motive?

Irrelevant.

[oops]duplicate post[/oops]

I am a student myself (technically.. on a (multiple) gap year).

I have no problem helping people, regardless of what their reason for asking.

However, if I see a post with a few lines of text detailing a vague idea of what they want, I am less likely to want to try to assist compared to a post where the OP has got some description of what they want, their current code and what the problem is.