"Down with the bloody big head"

Since I am in Japan, I have no experience with the changes made by Google.

But a simple collection of keywords may have worked before to get traffic, but now, quality will have to be given importance above quantity. Not only the answers, but also the questions. I rarely wander out of the C/C++ forums, and there I think 90% of the questions are beginner level questions. Even then, considering the simplicity of the question, the depth of the thread is ridiculously too long. It takes at least 3-4 posts to get the OP to post some code. Developers don't have time to wade through dozens of pages to find a solution. It gets boring and wastes time. That is why Wikipedia is in the top of the search results. It may not have the complete answer, but it is a great starting point for anyone who is not a free loader. I for once haven't come across Daniweb during my work related Google searches. My main hits have been Wikipedia, Stackoverflow, Embedded.com etc. And they point me in the correct direction.

I read in a previous thread, that Dani has made changes targeting more advanced developers from the US/CANADA to post here more, so things will improve. But it won't be easy to reverse the damage the broken English homework students have done in these past 5-6 years.

Moderators will have to pay a lot of attention on the quality of the answers and accuracy too. Right now, community-wise, regardless whether it helps the OP or not, long threads with as many users contributing as possible are preferred and even encouraged. But developer wise, unless it is a really technical discussion, I think it is bad quality. So maybe the overall site policy may have to evolve a bit.

commented: I agree 100% +0