Member Avatar for diafol

I was a noob, posting stupid questions. I got on the wrong side of the mods on a couple of occasions and acted like a bit of a troll. I got better. I learned, I started contributing. Then a lot, then became a mod for a few years, before taking a back seat. This does happen. How often? Not very, I don't think. Noob to Mod - maybe 6 years? That's a (very) long term view. I agree with AN - something needs to happen now with regard to quality. "We" can't let shit posts litter the place. They stink and leave a bad taste in your mouth. :(

An observation.

Imagine you are someone new to Daniweb. You go to the programming forum. You see a bunch of threads with titles like

• HELP!!!
  • Urgent
  • Compiler
  • Pointers

(This has actually been a good few days with not too many of these types). You hover over the thread titles and see some poorly (sometimes unintelligibly) worded questions. And on some of the better titles you still see (basically) demands to do someone's homework for them. Even if, after some gentle prodding, an intelligent question emerges, the first impression one gets is not a fair representation of the actual Daniweb experience (I hope).

I'm not saying that we shouldn't help the noobs to become better at asking questions (and hopefully sticking around). It's a better approach and I'm all for it. I'm just saying that we will still have that "first impression" problem.

However, you alone, or you with a handful of paid helpers (not sure how many employees you have, if any), are being paid

Davey is on the payroll as community administrator. James is on the payroll as systems admin. I take home whatever's left over, if anything. Lately I've just been losing money and not taking anything home except for draining my bank account. It's not sustainable.

your Business Model which relies 100% on quantity, you'll keep a troll like https://www.daniweb.com/members/893435/spoonlicker around to make some posts