I am new to being a webmaster. I've posted very few threads on this forum regarding my Pet Community and Pet Forum looking for help. However, in one of the two or three threads I've started I had not one, but THREE members act totally rude in an uncalled for matter.

So, my question is... now that I've been away for a while and actually have been nervous to post here at all. Is being a newbie to this "stuff" looked down upon here? That is the vibe I've gotten and I would hate to stay away if I just happened to run into a few bad apples.

I'm sorry if this post offends anyone, but it's just been my experience so far. Thanks :)

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Can you post links to the specific threads you're talking about?

I had a quick look here and to be fair, DMR (the moderator) did post a warning about not tolerating rudeness in an attempt to prevent the thread getting out of hand.

The best thing to do is always to bring such issues to our attention, and we will always look into it and deal with persistant offenders accordingly. Unfortuntely, despite our best efforts we cannot monitor every thread 24/7 and some bad posts do slip through.

What I can assure you is that we do not tolerate offensive or outright rude postings, this is a help system after all.

A little advice though, would be to make your question as clear as possible to avoid the 'you asked for this, now you want that' type responses.

Hope you will give us a second chance, the vast majoirty of our members are helpful, decent people...

Also, avoid linking to your website in every post you make. It makes us feel like you're just posting to plug your website (you even did it in this thread) and then we're less likely to want to take time to help you.