Hi everyone, new here. I want to hear everyone's funny stories about bad customers, clients, and general problems with being a tech guy, since I find pain funny. I hope I'll fit in here.

What got me thinking about this was the fact that I'm studying for Comptia A+ certification and while looking stuff up about tech work found this: 10 Reasons it Doesn't Pay to be the Computer Guy.

http://www.lifereboot.com/2007/10-reasons-it-doesnt-pay-to-be-the-computer-guy/

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Haha that was funny.

Just bear in mind that you'll find these kinds of testimonials for almost any career path out there.

Every job has its up sides and down sides.

Oh, I know. I was absolutely miserable by the time I finished as a movie theater manager after a year there, when my initial plan was to work there throughout college. Beyond twisted inside out.

But it's not so much as a taste of what techs do as I think pain is funny and like to hear people's stories.

I once was asked why my friends grandmothers computer wouldnt work with the digital camera they had baught her for christmas. It was a 486 with 8bm ram ;)

silly people....

Interesting...fortunately I can do my own repairs.

i've explained my dormmate that i'm a programmer.. but he insist me to fix his printer..

i've explained my dormmate that i'm a programmer.. but he insist me to fix his printer..

yeah i know how that goes. i dont think people know that a programmer program computers.

what is infinitely worse is if your employee does not know what programming entails and ask you something akin to sorcery or magic. usually not related to programming at all.

i am a tech support representative. i have once had a customer how literally closed all the "windows" in their house when i asked her to "close all the windows on your screen" . hehehe