Hi all

I've joined this thread as I have found myself in a career crisis. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

For 2.5 years i have been a web developer, primarily working with Microsoft's asp and now asp.net with SQL server as a database. i just scored a job as a fairly beginner to intermediate asp.net developer at a consulting firm. (i graduated in 2005). After working with some very hardcore asp.net developers, i can't see myself progressing to be so technical like them! It seems that developers progress into enterprise architects or solution designers.

I understand the IT market is hot right now and I have always enjoyed working with data/analysis side of projects so i'm wondering if i should take this opportunity to make a move to try Data warehouse/Business Intelligence work in the Microsoft space.

I'm interested in the work they do but what are the career opportunities like there? Do people generally move from web development to data analyst work? Could it be more enjoyable? Is this going backward?

As i greedily also want to travel, i thought if i stick to to asp.net (there seems to be a big demand for it) and it is something i have existing skills in, it would be easier to find temp/contract and fund myself if i work abroad. How employable would i be being someone with an asp.net background who has just moved into DW/BI work?

Please save my soul and share me your thoughts.:-/

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Data warehousing, Business Intelligence, Data Mining etc are considered highly specialized skills. If you are serious about moving into that area, I would not bank on interest and basic skills as the ticket there. If you really want to be successful in data mining, you should probably consider a degree in CIS or a degree in Data mining - Colorado State University has an online degree, I believe.