I'm just barely passing my class which to me is the same as flunking....I've currently got a C avergage in class and got a D on my last test...the thing is that I listen in class, do the exercises and assigned homework, etc but I just don't get it....what should I do? I can't very well just skip the foreign language class as many colleges require it to get in (those that are worth going to anyways)...

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I don't know you just have to try harder to study just read over your notes and chapters and stuff. I am in my third/last year of spanish and i am not doing so great either i probably have a c+ avg, but it is bound to get worse the other 2 years i barely passed spanish. Learning a new language is hard just hang in there at least you dont have to take latin and a foreign language. I am also in my last year of latin and then in elventh i can take an elective or ap class like computer ap.

You could get a tutor, many schools offer them for free. You may also want to pay better attention, participate a lot, I found that helped me get it.

Another thing is to get some DVDs and set them to Spanish language settings. Our teachers do that every few weeks, it helps with getting some of the grammar and helps with vocabulary.

yeah, the way my teacher teaches kind of confuses me, she speaks alot in spanish during class and some in english..supposedly so we get used to just hearing and speaking spanish but I think I'd do better if she spoke in english and just helped us practice saying things in spanish, like after a chapter she'd say english sentences and we'd say them in spanish and vice a versa...:( whatever...I'm just gonna be lucky if I pass this class at all..

yeah last year and this year my spanish teacher spoke all in spanish the only time i have ever heard a spanish teacher talk in english was in 8th grade and of course the first day of school.

Don't even see why colleges have it as a requirement to get in...