Currently, I'm a computer science major, but my University offers two separate computer majors.

Information Technology and
Computer Science

I'm not that exceptional of a math student, and I've been told that Information Technology requires less math then a CS degree.

What worries me though is how far a degree in IT would get me compared to a CS degree.

I'm concerned about job security, salary, and the prestige of one degree to another.

In 30 years, would I still have a job if I switch to an IT degree? Do CS majors look "down" on an IT degree. Is salary better for one or the other?

I'm only a sophomore taking the intro computer classes so I still have plenty of time to switch, but I'd like some input from people in the field before I make an decisions.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Yes go for information technology.

>I've been told that Information Technology requires less math then a CS degree.
Maybe to get the degree (I wouldn't know, I don't have a degree), but the kinds of jobs you'd get with either a CS or IT degree will require math. Consider yourself warned.

>What worries me though is how far a degree in IT would get me compared to a CS degree.
An IT degreee will get you just as a far as a CS degree will: the interview for your first real job. Beyond that it's all about experience.

>I'm concerned about job security, salary, and the prestige of one degree to another.
Job Security: If you're depending on your degree for job security, then you don't have any job security.

Salary: In reality a degree won't help your salary like it would, say, a teacher's. A rock star IT guy or programmer will command just as high a salary if he dropped out of high school as he would with a PhD in computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, and quantum physics. Experience and ability rules in our field. The degrees and certifications are really just there to get a resume past the semi-automated sorting heuristics.