Too true, but you can't force religion on people. I'm not saying you're trying to, but it's just...the way you said it.

Perhaps the scientific community has changed its definition of "theory". When I was a student of science, the definition we were taught to use was what I just stated. This is a change in meaning that's convenient, but inexpedient at the same time. The word "verify" comes from a root word that means "truth", so how can something be verified and still not be considered true? Of course, if a theory can stand up to repeated testing and still hold up, perhaps science saw the need to distinguish between the old "educated guess" and something closer to what might be considered true enough for the average person. So they replaced "theory" with "hypothesis" and elevated the term "theory". I can live with that.
Concerning evolution, I don't feel the need to redefine words to invalidate something that just doesn't make sense to me; I simply say it doesn't make sense! While I don't have as much a problem with evolution in general as many religious folks, I don't believe it explains the origin of life on earth, nor can it. I think there a many, many things we as humans simply cannot figure out or know. If science wants to build hypotheses and through investigation feel they can at some point call them theories because the assumptions they make can't be logically or empirically repudiated, that's not going to get my ire up. It's just word usage to me. The bottom line is still that they still don't KNOW.
Nevertheless, I am fully persuaded that there will come a time when all of us, no matter what we believe or don't believe, will stand face-to-face with the undeniable truth of God. At that time it won't matter in the least what we have thought, assumed, figured out or believed. All that will matter is what God thinks.