Hi everyone!

I'm Bliss (otherwise known in the 'real world' as Rachel) and I'm a part time local government officer and part time web designer/developer. I'm 36 and live in Derbyshire in the UK. I spend most of my time glued to the screen, but tend to spend a lot of time in and out of hospital. I was born with a mild form of spina bifida and have a number of long term health problems. I'm stubborn though, and it doesn't (often) stop me. Slows me down at times, but I keep plodding on.

Most of my spare time's spent at the computer. I've been doing web design for about 6 years now, after I accidentally got into it after I volunteered to do a website using Frontpage for a voluntary organisation I worked with, little realising what was involved. My first attempt at a site was judged "okay for a first attempt" on a web design forum I joined, but being rather a perfectionist the site was only on the server for about 3 weeks before I decided to start again from scratch and learn HTML and CSS.

After jumping in at the deep end and launching straight into CSS layouts, I did a series of Open University courses (HTML/CSS, ASP, PHP, database design and server management) and got myself a certificate in web design (and nearly drove myself round the bend with all the assignments).

For the past few years I've been running a medical support website and forum, but recently gave that up to concentrate on setting up my business. At the moment I run a site and forum for my cousin who runs a BMX cycling club, and I've just started a site for a charity bookstall my mum and a friend run.