Hi all,
My name is Jeremy. I am a 31yr old, part time student hoping to get into an IT job while earning my CS degree. I got a late start in life due to a rough upbringing, and I need some advice on how to break into the field that I would like to have as a long term career. I am currently a business analyst at a fleet leasing company, and I have realized that I have a strong aptitude towards critical thinking, data analysis, and logic. I am a wiz in SQL, Excel, Access as well as other business application. I am completely self taught. I have been learning to program in school, and now I am very comfortable with basic to intermediate programming in C++, C#, Java, VB, and VB script. I would love to get into software development, but DB managment would be interesting to me as well.

How can I get a job in the field before I have my full degree. As I stated before, I work full time and I am taking 2-3 classes per semester. I am still about 6 years away from a bachelors degree at the rate that I am going. Will my business experience help me? I am carrying a 4.0 in school. Will potential employers look at that at all? Are there any specific entry level certifications that I should get? Any advice would be very welcome. Thanks all!!!

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

I'll be brutally honest with you: you don't stand a chance.
Most companies won't hire anyone without experience when they're over say 25 years old. Too expensive.
And by the time you get your degree, you'll be 35+, at that age it's hard to get any job in IT at all.

commented: that's bullshit. +0

Most companies won't hire anyone without experience when they're over say 25 years old. Too expensive.
And by the time you get your degree, you'll be 35+, at that age it's hard to get any job in IT at all.