I was always brought up that 15% tip was a standard rate. So it was surprising when my mom argued with me today that it is now considered rude to tip 15% and that 20% is now the standard tip. This is after I expressed surprise at her tipping over 20% for mediocre service from a delivery man. I have nothing against tipping, but to me, 15% is for average service, higher or lower for better or worse service. Since tipping goes by percentage I don't see any logic behind this supposed change. Being a college student I might be out of the loop. Thoughts?

Recommended Answers

All 80 Replies

Some people are starting to tip 20 percent, while I just tip what I think they're work was worth tipping. If I get a $15 dollar haircut I may tip two or three dollars, depending on how they did. I think you're correct that you should only tip higher than %15, if they did better than a mediocre job, but if their manager had to salvage everything than they didn't do a good job. their manager did.

Yeah, I think 20% is ridiculous personally, but considering that most people who get tips live off of those tips, I usually do not dip below 15% unless their service was particularly bad. I thought the arguments put forth about tipping in Reservoir Dogs were pretty interesting. At some point, a mediocre waiter/waitress deserves something, but I don't think that something is 20%.

I think I disagree with mom. Dealing with restaurants, 15% is standard, plus or minus based on the service. What I dislike is 6 or more the tip is automatically added and calculated at 18%. I've even seen higher.

Other services have different rates. 15% is not universal.

This looks like a good writeup

More info here

Any one expecting any specific amount in tipping money independent of service rendered deserves none at all.
I will therefore never give a tip unless the service is not only satisfactory but examplary, and then tip depending on circumstances.