Hello DaniWeb Community !

Just few words in order to introduce myself...

I'm a System Administrator and sometimes Junior Project Manager.

I mostly work on Microsoft's systems but sometimes I have the pleasure of installing/maintaining Linux Systems, mostly Ubutunu sometimes RedHat(/CentOS) and Debian.

I work in a "SSII" (French acronym for something like "Ingeneering and Services IT Company" I think), and love to fly in "small" aircrafts during my spare time (I own a Private Pilot Licence).

Bastien

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Nice a pilot, how hard is it to get that, I have been thinking of getting one.

Welcome to the community.

Hello Finito,

It's not that hard, it "only" takes time and money actually...

In France (and in other countries of europe as well) you have to fly at least 45hours including 20 hours with an instructor if my memories are correct. It costs something like approx. 100€ / hour. Let's say you do 2hours per month, you'll need 2 years to complete the course.

Bastien

hmm 4500 Euros. So if I want I can finish it in a month?

Damn cool, what about equipment restriction? Learn one you know em all or is there a separate test for Jumbo Jets? What about Zone restriction are you cleared for all air space or is there a restriction on some areas apart from the obvious (China, North Korea, Cuba)

I'd say more like 6000, because 45hours are required by the law but you will probably do more like 60hours. And I must also say that 100€ per hour is the price in France, I don't know it in other countries !

But yes it can be done in a month if you've got the money, the time and the good weather conditions !