I'm torn, so im majoring in accounting and minoring (is that a word :-/ ) in math. Took intro to cs class (c++ programming) got an a-, the class was super easy, the minus was because of missed HW's. Decided to take second cs class (c++ programing), dropped it because it was harder than first class, teacher was terrible, and i had limited time to do programming

sooooooo

Computers are at best my third preferred career path. So am i wasting time registering for same c++ programming class that I dropped.

P.S. If it wasnt apparent i'm not a techie or anything of that sort (although I am computer savvy compared to most other people ) and as far as I'm concerned programming for hours at a time is one of the things one encounters in hell.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

What you major in is completely up to you, but don't rule it out simply because you coding isn't your cup of tea. There are numerous avenues you can take with a computer science degree such as market research, analyst, tester, etc.. Personally, coding my own "projects" for hours on end is what I do on my days off (I work as a PHP/MySQL programmer) and I wouldn't have it any other way, but to each his own!

Good luck with your decision!

>> Computers are at best my third preferred career path.

>> as far as I'm concerned programming for hours at a time is one of the things one encounters in hell.

You've answered your own question. Why would you pick your third preferred career path instead of your first or second? Why would you pick a path that requires you to do something that one encounters in hell?

Give that you quit something because it wasn't easy, then it probably doesn't matter what you choose.

@RykeTech: thank you for the reply, unlike the other two it actually would help me make that decision
@vernon: Why do people need back up plans, and other options? HMMM let's see because sometimes choice 1 doesn't work out and choice 2 might not either.