Hi all, I'm brand new here and looking for some advice. I'm putting together plans to start a software development company. I live in Toronto, Canada and I'm not a programmer. I have an understanding of it, but never learned to code. My plans are to handle all client side dealings and to hire the programming offshore - either a small company or my own employees. I'm talking about a small operation here, just me and a small team of programmers.

From some research I've done, I'm considering Mexico and Argentina. They are closer than India and have similar time zones.

Am I on the right track here?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

From the timezone point of view I'd agree. Since you don't have a programming background, how do you know your not being charged double of what the workload is worth ? You have to consider cultural differences, international/local law, perhaps even export restrictions. Don't take this too lightly.

You're right. I've thought about that. The other risk is that, what if my team decides to end the relationship? Without the know how, I could end up in a tough spot.

I guess I would have to learn to minimize these risks. Are you currently involved in some outsourcing operation pritaes?

No. A former company was looking into it, but finally decided against it. Anyway, the same can happen with your offshore programmers. You'd have to make sure to get regular source/documentation updates, so even if it happens, you're able to switch to new partners.

No. A former company was looking into it, but finally decided against it. Anyway, the same can happen with your offshore programmers. You'd have to make sure to get regular source/documentation updates, so even if it happens, you're able to switch to new partners.

To minimize these switching or billing risks, how much programming knowledge would you recommend? And how would you recommend learning it?