I'm new in programming and my boss required us to make a documentation about the system that we were going to create.
i don't have any idea on how to start the documentation.

thanks for the help :)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

are you talking about a spec sheet kind of situation?

what we do when a new system is asked to be developed (keep in mind it is a smaller company)

we talk to the key people that are going to use the system. get feedback, ideas, and so forth and write them down on a spec sheet. The spec sheet will say what the application is going to accept, what it is going to manipulate, and what it is going to return. if everyone agrees on the final spec, all spec additions are halted until the BETA is available. a group of testers then play with the application, storing the bugs in a bug database and writing ideas or improvements on spec sheet 2. this goes on for a few weeks or a month etc. once the spec sheet 2 and bugs are accounted for, all spec and bug additions are halted and the program is changed and bugs are fixed. application is then deployed. all additions or subtractions are added to a spec 3 which is used for the version 2 of the product

The title of your thread and the body of your question don't really match. If your boss is asking you to create a ROLLOUT STRATEGY then he's asking for a plan of how to go about deploying your system when it's done, not a specification of what the system is supposed to do prior to writing it. Ask your boss for a clarification before you waste any time on further research.

If he's really asking for the latter, then what jlego says is a good approach for a small application. Verify with your boss and continue doing that.