I am an aspiring programmer/developer, and I was wondering which direction would lead to more job opportunities(Not just more money, although in this recession we could all use some extra cash) I am learning C# and have mostly done Winforms desktop applications, should I be looking more towads ASP.Net??

Am planning on doing some Microsoft Certifications soon, and some good advice would be nice.

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Member Avatar for stbuchok

Considering the line between desktop development and web development are becoming more and more blurred, I would say take a look at doing some ASP.Net development, but keep up with desktop as well. Making sure you know both is important. Also learn SQL, this is just as important as the main language you are using.

Learning C# is not just learning the syntax. After you get the basics learn more about .NET platform. If you know .NET and C# there is no such distinct thing as Asp.NET at all, it is just server side C# code .)

I think the best choice is to begin learing a lower level language like C++ or java, after you master those, you can easily go up to more higher languages. The other way around is not that easy

I think the best choice is to begin learing a lower level language like C++ or java, after you master those, you can easily go up to more higher languages. The other way around is not that easy

Lol, I love C++ (it was my first language), but I have a hard time telling anyone to learn C++ before anything else, because that takes f***ing forever. "Learning curve" really means "more time spent doing nothing." It may take him the next 3 years to learn C++ as his first language, so you can understand my concern about someone on a programming forum dictating 3 years of time.