I'm currently a Computer science student and i have been mainly programming in C++ for about a year. I've search around different sites and some say you have to know basic stuff like:

Whats the difference between a class and a struct?
What is a constructor?
What is meant by a "deep copy"?
What is the difference between "pass by reference" and "pass by value"?
What is a static member function?
What is meant by a derived class?
What is a pure virtual function?

while others are more complex puzzles and problem solving questions.

Is there a basic criteria for a entry level programmer?

*Books i have (if it matters):
How to Program C++ 4th edition By Deitel
Programming and Problem solving in C++ 4th edition by Nell dale
Object Oriented Programming 4th edition by Joyce Farrell
Programming Interviews Exposed 2th edition By john Mongan, Noah Suojanen, Eric Giguere
Data Structures And Problem Solving Using C++ 2nd edition by Mark Weiss

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

It depends on the company. What you've listed are all basic pieces of knowledge that don't tell anybody whether you're a good programmer or not. Any reasonable company would be happy to hire a good C programmer, for example, if they wanted somebody good at writing C++. Certainly such a programmer would have experience in other languages that gives him a worldview that translates to C++. There are no good C programmers that only know C.

The criteria for entry level programmer at companies that want and can recognize and get good programmers is different than that for companies that are retarded.

an entry level programmer should be able to read, should be able to type, and should be able to learn. Anything else is a bonus.

an entry level programmer should be able to read, should be able to type, and should be able to learn. Anything else is a bonus.

That's idiotic, an entry level programmer should also know how to solve algorithmic problems and math problems.