Hello! I'm a network student starting for 3rd year. I would like to get some advice on final year project ideas relating to networking. I'm not that confident with programming.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hello! I'm a network student starting for 3rd year. I would like to get some advice on final year project ideas relating to networking. I'm not that confident with programming.

Hello..
If you really want to impress people you should show how to upgrade to IPv6, which in itself easy but people are putting it off, so if you can do it... Or else there was a nasty bit on network world floating around about an IPv6 bug that crashes windows and OSX machines connected to the same segment (think wifi access point). You'll need backtrack linux to demonstrate it unless you fully understand the problem and have some impressive python skills in your pocket. If you want to go uber technical, talk about a protocol.

Another option is Setting up a private WoW game server, Upload your game server to a host. Get your friends and friends of friends into the game. Check ingame lag against connection speed. Find the corelationship and tweak accordingly. So far private game servers have been hosted without much scientific research into the networking issues. This is as good a time as any to do an academic study on the matter.

best of luck,
Jackie.

Another option is Setting up a private WoW game server, Upload your game server to a host. Get your friends and friends of friends into the game. Check ingame lag against connection speed. Find the corelationship and tweak accordingly. So far private game servers have been hosted without much scientific research into the networking issues. This is as good a time as any to do an academic study on the matter.

Which is a violation of the EULA and is technically illegal.

commented: keep it up to find calprits +0