Heyo guys, and girls

Well, something to start with is that I'm lost...

I'm a computer science graduate for 5 years now, and since then, I never worked at programming, been bouncing from one job to the other and that wasted a huge amount of time for me.

So, lately I decided to get back on the track and persue my old dream, programming... and I chose Java for this.

Got the tutorials from Oracle, other sources, self studied and now I'm preparing for the OCAJP certification, but...

I don't know what to do next, I don't really like web development, but it seems like the biggest market there, software development isn't that fancy or required, and in either, I'm completely blind about where to go or what to do, seems like too many things to chose from and I'm so confused and totally noobish at the point.

So, would I be greedy if I asked you guys to help me out with this? feel free to ask me whatever makes it better for you to help

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

It really depends on what you enjoy, but if you're just trying to get into programming as a career then it would be wise to take what you can get and use that to build up experience. Once you have a little more experience you can make educated choices as to what you want and also be in a a better position to make it happen.

You seem to have some internal conflict on whether you want to program or not. First you say "...persue my old dream, programming..." and then later you say "...I don't really like web development...". Is programming the dream or is the dream to get a stable, well-paying job (ie a career). If you spent the last five years not programming, then I suspect that it isn't something that you love to do and never will be. If that is the case, then you'll probably never be really good at it and you'll end up wishing that you had done something else.