Hi there!

I came here for your advice :)
The thing is that I want to start learning programming language which suits to these requirements:
Web development, working with databases, need to be quite popular, good options for employment, good options to working on freelance projects too (small and middle projects), has good community support, a large set of online tutorials and is not very complex and difficult to learn.

I'm not total beginner in programming world, but I need to start somewhere and make some visible results on my projects.
So please help mi with your advices and experiences.

Many thanks to every reply!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Definitely PHP! I think it fulfills all of those requirements!

Thank you very much for your reply, NerdCake.
Do you also have any recommendation for PHP based open source CMS?

Hello,

ld, but I need to start somewhere and make some visible results on my projects.

Maybe you should assess what your "projects" are and then make the decision on the language to choose?

Maybe you should assess what your "projects" are and then make the decision on the language to choose?

Like I said, something in web development so I need a type of language which is powerful enough to make something useful. I can't cleary define what my projects would be cuz I don't know what are clients requests yet, but I can realize during the education (what are the most common things).

I'm choosing between PHP, Python(Django), Java and C# (ASP.NET). Ofcourse I know JavaScript will be needed for dynamic.

I really think PHP is what you're looking for here. There are lots of CMS's to choose from like Wordpress, Drupal, Joomla or something.

Member Avatar for diafol