I am a programmer. That's why I'm receiving a paycheck. I sit alone in a small cubicle and do my work. I don't do desktop support and I'm not interested in working closely with users. So my boss says to me today that I am being signed up for a FIVE day course in..... Microsoft OUTLOOK. You heard right. A five day course learning how to email. And the purpose of this? So I can teach classes to everyone at my job how to use Outlook. Am I a teacher? Nope. Am I a desktop support person? Nope. Do I want to waste my time and go through the stress of doing this? F-no. So I'm going to start looking for another job. I know some of you might say, "appreciate your job, and do anything you have to for the money." Well I worked very hard to be hired as a programmer, and the thought of doing these presentations causes me great stress and anxiety. What do you guys think? If you're a programmer like me, what would you do?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

What do you guys think?

I think there must be a misunderstanding somewhere. Your boss' idea of what your job responsibilities and skills are, and your idea of that are definitely not the same. Maybe, as far as he knows, he hired an "IT guy", and if his idea of IT is limited to using Outlook, then maybe he thinks it's part of your job description. On the other hand, maybe you thought your job description was to be a pure coder, when in reality you are expected to do more.

If you're a programmer like me, what would you do?

Get a meeting with your boss and try to clarify the confusion. Clearly, there must be a confusion somewhere, because nobody would think that being taught about Outlook and going to teach people about Outlook is a productive way for you to spend your time.

That said, if you are lacking in the "people skill" areas, then you might benefit from an opportunity to develop them.